As the old adage goes, all good things must come to an end. It is even possible with your TikTok account. It is not uncommon for your account to be deleted. There are plenty of compelling reasons to do so, whether you’re concerned about spending too much time on the app or about new privacy concerns. For whatever reason, you’ve arrived at the right place. This post will walk you through the steps of deleting your account and will answer any questions you may have.
What happens when you delete a TikTok account?
Each social networking site handles accounts in a different way. Some may allow you to suspend or pause your account in order to return to it later, while others will simply delete everything. In the sections below, you can learn more about what happens to everything in your TikTok account after you delete it.
Will deleting TikTok delete my videos?
Yes. If your TikTok account is deleted, your videos will be deleted as well. This is fantastic because it eliminates the need to go through your videos and delete them one by one.
Does deleting TikTok delete messages?
The same is true for any private messages you’ve sent to other users. If you delete your account, you will also lose your emails.
Does your TikTok account delete when you delete the app?
If you just want to take a break from TikTok, you can deactivate the app on your iPhone without losing your entire account.
How long does it take TikTok to delete an account?
If you’re suffering from deleter’s remorse, there’s good news! TikTok only deactivates your account for 30 days before deleting it completely. You can reactivate your account and keep everything intact while you’re still within that time frame. Your account, however, and everything associated with it, will be deleted after 30 days.
How to delete a TikTok account
There are a few different ways to delete your TikTok account depending on the device you’re using. We’ll show you how to do it with your iPhone and computer.
How to delete TikTok on your iPhone
When you’re finished, simply follow these steps to delete your TikTok account from your iPhone:
- TikTok is now available.
- Choose the Me option.
- From the drop-down menu, select the three horizontal lines > Manage account > Delete account.
- Tap the Delete Account icon once more to confirm.
That’s all there is to it. Just a reminder: your account will be hidden from the public for 30 days, but you can reactivate it at any time.
How to delete a TikTok account on your computer
Perhaps you’ve already deleted the app from your iPhone and don’t want to reinstall it just to deactivate your account. However, you can use your computer instead. If you know your username and password, logging into your TikTok account is simple. Simply follow these steps to delete your account:
- Navigate to TikTok.com using your web browser.
- Please enter your login information.
- Choose Settings from the drop-down menu next to your profile photo.
- Then, next to the label Delete Account, select Delete.
How to permanently delete your TikTok
The 30-day waiting period before deleting your account has both advantages and disadvantages. On the plus side, you can undo the procedure, and there’s nothing else you need to do within that time frame to completely delete your TikTok account. All you have to do now is wait 30 days for the procedure to be completed. The disadvantage is that you cannot speed up or delete your account during the 30-day period. Now all you have to do is wait.
Why can’t I delete my TikTok?
TikTok will not allow you to deactivate your account for a few reasons. And don’t worry, they’re all reasonable and easy to fix.
There’s no way to contact them. To delete your account, you must have an email address or a phone number associated with it. You will be able to delete the account if you add one of these.
Forcing the app to shut down. There may be a bug in the app that requires you to restart it in order to delete it.